Skip to main content

About Us

Please explore our sections below:

If you are interest in support in the work of the OMFS Section, and you are from a nation with OMFS, speak to your local scientific society or contact your nation's delegate(s).

The OMFS surgery sections and boards are constituted under the Medical Regulations. As a result, only EU countries where the specialty is a medical specialty can be full members of the Section. The exception to this is The Netherlands were OMFS is dual degree but held under the dental directives.

Countries where OMFS is under dental regulations can attend meetings as observers.

The OMFS Section of UEMS works with the OMFS Board to represent the specialty within UEMS and across Europe. Is aims to promote and support best practice in:

  • Surgical training including the Standard of the Certificate of Completion of Specialist Training (CCST)
  • Continuing Medical Education in Surgery (Continuing Professional Development)
  • Promoting the specialty of OMFS in nations where the specialty does not yet exist

The OMFS Section of UEMS believes that the medical specialty of OMFS within Europe is stronger working together and collaborating for the benefit of our patients. Within Europe there are two types of OMFS – Dental-Oro-Maxillo-Facial Surgery, where specialists are both doctors and dentists, and Maxillo-facial Surgery where the specialists are doctors with significant training in dental domains but a formal dental degree is not required (although many specialists have a dental qualification too).

President of Section
Patrick Magennis
Consultant OMFS Surgeon, Liverpool, UK

Secretary General of Section
Hans-Peter Ulrich
OMFS Specialist MKG - Chirurgie Lindenarcaden, Germany

Liaison Officer
Frank Hölzle
Professor, Department of OMFS, RWTH Aachen University Hospital, Aachen, Germany

Hans-Peter Ulrich
OMFS Specialist MKG - Chirurgie Lindenarcaden, Germany

National delegates come from nations where the OMFS section of UEMS is a recognised medical specialty in Annex 5 of Directive 2005/65 – where specialties are defined within the European Economic Area (EEA). Although formally they are representatives of their National Medical Association (NMAs) most OMFS delegates are appointed by their national specialty/scientific associations.

List of Nations and Delegates

Austrian Society of Oral-Maxillofacial-Surgery
Österreichische Gesellschaft für Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie
Michael Öckher (Section & Board)
Gert Santler (Section & Board)

Belgian Royal Society for Oral and Maxillo-Facial Surgery
SRBSCMF – Societe Royale Belge de Stomatologie et de Chirurgie Maxillo-Faciale
KBVSMFH – Koninklijke Belgische Vereniging voor Stomatologie en Maxillo-Faciale Heelkunde
Blaise Kovacs (Section & Board)
Joseph Schoenaers (Observer)
Christophe Spaas (Observer)
Jan Van de Perre (Section)
Herman Vercruysse (Board)
Robin Willaert (Observer)

Croatian Society of Maxillofacial Surgery, Plastic and Reconstructive  Head and Neck Surgery
Lukšić Ivica (Section & Board)

Cyprus Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Στοματικη Και Γναθοπροσωπικη Χειρουργικη Εταιρεια Κυπρου
Kostas Marinos (Section & Board)

Czech Republic
Czech Association for Maxillofacial Surgery (Ceska Společnost Maxilofacialni Chirurgie)
René Foltan  (Section & Board)
Karel Klima (Section & Board)

Danish Association for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Foreningen af Specialtandlaeger i Tand-, Mund-og Kaebekirurgi
Troels Bundgaard (Observer)
Thomas Steengaard (Observer)

Estonian Association for Maxillofacial Surgery
Eesti Näo-lõualuukirurgia Selts
Heleia Nestal (Section and Board)
Tauri Narits (Section & Board)
Tiia Tamme (Section & Board)

Finnish Association for Maxillofacial Surgery,
Suomen Leuka- Ja Kasvokirurgian Yhdistys R.Y.
Risto Kontio (Section & Board)
Patricia Stoor (Section & Board)

French Society of Stomatology Maxillo Facial Surgery and Oral Surgery/ Association of Facial Surgeons: SFSCMFCO
Chris Meyer (Section & Board)
Andre Chaine (Section & Board)

Georgia Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Zurab Chichua (Observer)
Ketevan Gogilashvili (Observer)
Giorgi Menabde (Observer)

German Society of Oral- and Maxillofacial-Surgery
Deutsche Gesellschaft für Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie (DGMKG)
Hans-Peter Ulrich (Section & Board – Head of Delegation)
Frank Hölzle (Board)
Martin Keweloh (Section)

Hellenic Association for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (HAOMS)
Anestis Chrysostomidis (Section & Board)
Georgios Chatzopoulos (Section & Board)

Hungarian Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Magyar Arc-, Állcsont- és Szájsebészeti Társaság (MAÁSZT)
Zsolt Nemeth (Section & Board)

Tom Barry (Section & Board)

Italian Society of Maxillo-Facial Surgery
Società Italiana di Chirurgia Maxillo-Facciale SICMF
Silvestre Galioto (Board)
Giorgio Iannetti (Section)

Latvian Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Kaspars Stamers (Section & Board)

Linas Zaleckas (Section & Board)

None at present

None at present

Dutch Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
Nederlandse Vereniging voor Mondziekten, Kaak- en Aangezichtschirurgie
Thijs Merkx (Section & Board)
Toine Rosenberg (Section & Board)

Norwegian Society  for Maxillofacial Surgery
Norsk Forening For Maxillofacial Kirurgi
Jan Mangersnes (Section & Board)

Polish Association for Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery
Polskie Towarzystwo Chirurgii Czaszkowo-Szczekowo-Twarzowej
None at present

Association of Portugese Craniomaxillofacial Surgeons
Associacao Portuguesa De Cirurgia Craniomaxilofacial
Paulo Valejo Coelho (Section & Board)

Romanian Society for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Societatea Romana de Chirurgie Oro-Maxilofaciala – SRCOMF
Alexandru Bucur (Section & Board)

Slovenian Association for Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery
Združenje za maksilofacialno in oralno kirurgijo Slovenije – ZMOKS
David Vozlic (Section & Board)

Spanish Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
Sociedad Española de Cirugía Oral y Maxilofacial y De Cabeza y Cuello (SECOM).
Fernando Garcia Marin (Section)
Carlos Navarro Vila (Board)

Swedish Society for Maxillofacial Surgery
Svenska Sällskapet för Maxillofacialkirurgi
Lars Rasmusson (Section & Board)

Swiss Society of Oral & Maxillo-facial Surgery – SSOMFS                                
Henri Thuau (Section & Board)
Daniel Zweifel (Section & Board)

British Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons
David Keith (Section & Board)
Patrick Magennis (Section & Board)

List of Delegates

Each March the OMFS Section of UEMS and Board meeting. Usually there is a social meal the evening before and the formal meeting takes place on the Saturday. The Board meets first in the morning, and in the afternoon the decisions of the Board are ratified by the Section and matters specific to the Section are discussed. The Executive meets 4 times between the annual meeting of all delegates.

The European Board of Oro-Maxillo-Facial Surgery exists to enhance, through various means, OMFS standards of training and practice. It has its own website at

It sets out training standards and guidelines for Oro-Maxillo-Facial Surgery (also named Maxillo-Facial Surgery / Cranio-Maxillo-Facial surgery) In order to achieve this goal, the European Board of Oro-Maxillo-Facial Surgery is composed of national delegates who represent academic and non-academic professional educational bodies. In this respect, these delegates are nominated by national professional and Scientific Oro-Maxillo-Facial Associations.

One of the means to this end is the EBOMFS Assessment, which confers the title of “Fellow of the EBOMFS, head and neck surgery”. The EBOMFS RQ (Recognition of Qualification) Assessment is organized biannually since 1996. It is conducted simultaneously with the Congress of the EACMFS (European Association for Cranio-Maxillo-Facial Surgery). Over 500 candidates from European countries have taken part.


teaching training